HomeHomeAbout UsBrowseBack IssueNews DispatchesSubscribing to Army SustainmentWriting For Army SustainmentContactLinksBottom

Current Issues
Cover of Issue
The Completion of the Ordnance School Campus

The Army Ordnance School marked the completion of the 2005 Base Closure and Realignment Commission projects at Fort Lee, Virginia, with the dedication of eight educational buildings and a dining facility on 15 September 2011. Each facility was named after a Soldier or Marine who made a significant contribution to the Ordnance Corps through innovation or leadership.

Billingsley Hall is named for Brigadier General John D. Billingsley, who was a professor and head of the Department of Ordnance at the U.S. Military Academy from 1951 to 1968. Stever Hall is named after Staff Sergeant Robert A. Stever who was awarded the Silver Star posthumously in 2003 for his combat actions as a machinegunner on a convoy during Operation Iraqi Freedom. Both of these buildings belong to the Wheel Maintenance Training Department.

Retired Colonel Donaldson Tillar
(Photo by Keith Desbois, CASCOM PAO)

Judkins Hall and Rose Hall are Munitions and Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Training Department buildings. Judkins Hall is named for Staff Sergeant Roy Judkins, who served during the Vietnam War and is the highest decorated EOD service member in the Department of Defense. Rose Hall honors Chief Warrant Officer 3 Alvin Rose. Rose was a former chief doctrine officer in the Munitions Branch of the Army Ordnance Missile and Munitions Center and School.

Toftoy Hall and Boyd Hall are Armament and Electronic Maintenance Training Department buildings. Major General Holger N. Toftoy was a pivotal figure in Army missile development, and Staff Sergeant James P. Boyd was a World War II combat hero.

Vincent Hall is named for Brigadier General Thomas K. Vincent, a former commanding general of Redstone Arsenal, Alabama, who directed the development of Army rockets and guided missiles. This building belongs to the tracked-vehicle portion of the Track/Metal Working/Service Recovery Training Department.

Randolph Hall is a Marine Corps training facility named for Corporal David M. Randolph, who was killed in the terrorist bombing on the Marine barracks in Beirut, Lebanon, on 23 October 1983. Randolph was a small-arms repairman.

The dining facility on the Army Ordnance School campus, the second largest in the Army, is named in honor of Samuel L. Sharpe, a 17th century colonial Soldier who was the first master gunner in what is now the United States.

Five more buildings—those forming the centerpiece of the campus—were dedicated on 5 May. Miley Hall and Hatcher Hall are Armament and Electronic Maintenance Training Department buildings. Miley Hall is named for General Henry A. Miley, the first ordnance Soldier to attain the rank of 4-star general. Hatcher Hall is dedicated to Major General Julian S. Hatcher, the first commanding general of the Ordnance Training Center at Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland.

Dickson Hall, a Wheel Maintenance Training Department building, is dedicated to Brigadier General Tracy C. Dickson, a pioneer of gun construction.

Porter Hall is an Track/Metal Working/Service Recovery Training Department building dedicated to Brigadier General Horace Porter, a Medal of Honor recipient and aide-de-camp to Generals Ulysses S. Grant and William T. Sherman during the Civil War.

Cohen Hall, an Armament and Electronics Maintenance Training Department building, is dedicated to Chief Warrant Officer 2 Bernard Cohen, whose inventions allowed otherwise irreparable vehicles to be returned to combat.

The Army Ordnance School projects began with a groundbreaking in 2007 and developed into a 3-million-square-foot campus with 30 buildings, where 4,000 Soldiers and Marines will train each year.

—Story by Julianne E. Cochran

WWW Army Sustainment